Who's Online
11 registered (thatruhondaryda, Dannylee, KryptoF15, pit, larry1341, Matt0898, 5 invisible), 16 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Topic Options
#1082083 - 08/19/16 02:56 PM Thoughts on basic (inexpensive) kit setup?
str870s Offline
Some dude

Loc: VA
City or County: Highland
I'm very new to reloading, but my father in law (FIL) has been doing it for years. It seems like he barely knows the basics himself, so I've basically just got periodic access to his RCBS equipment, not so much to "expertise."

I know RCBS is the name in basic reloading, and I've used my FIL's RCBS press, scale, shell holder, and I have the RCBS dies for my calibers. But I looked at basic "complete" kits, and Lee is making a very inexpensive (~$120) setup, which seems to include more components than the RCBS for $200. I'm not trying to make thousands of rounds, and don't need the fancy setups, I believe. I'm just trying to have the flexibility to make my own ammo, precisely, and somewhat cheaply (hence my desire not to spend $300-1000 on a setup). The powder measurement seems to be the real time-suck, since my FIL does it with a little spoon, carefully. I've seen powder dispensing devices, but haven't used any of them. It looks like the Lee setup comes with one.

Lee kit any good? Do I need to step up to RCBS? What's the good word?

http://www.brownells.com/reloading/reloading-kits/breech-lock-challenger-kit-prod54175.aspx

Thanks in advance.

#1082131 - 08/19/16 05:04 PM Re: Thoughts on basic (inexpensive) kit setup? [Re: str870s]
vic Offline
Bolt action

Loc: USA
City or County: Hopewell
I started with a Lee Challenger kit, and really the only thing I didn't like was the powder measure, which was a disc-type and didn't allow me to adjust the charge, I had to choose a cavity that was close to what I wanted for a charge and trickle up. Lee now makes an adjustable cavity measure, and I would have much preferred that.