Who's Online
0 registered (), 10 Guests and 0 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Topic Options
#979829 - 12/09/15 01:51 PM Fairfax County Residents NFA Questions and Discussion
UCDrewICU Offline
Patriot

Loc: Fairfax County
City or County: Fairfax Co.
As a FFX County resident, I thought it would be nice to be able to compile information specifically regarding our county for this not so straightforward process (for newcomers like myself and others too!). I figure as I explore and run into headaches of this tedious undertaking, I thought we could all help to foster a place for learning. I know I would love any of your guy's feedback! I'll start by posting some stuff I already know and what I personally intend to do with my up and coming NFA project.

Here's the Order of Operations as I see it so far:

1) Go to these links to read and download:
FFX Co Sherriff Kincaid Instructions
FFX Co Investigative Questionnaire

2) Complete one's ATF paperwork in full to submit to the Sherriff's Office along with the above questionnaire, self-addressed 8x10 envelope, AND more than 2 weeks of patience

3) If NOT rejected, proceed to submit all returned paperwork (plus $200 check or postal Money Order???) to the appropriate ATF branch (I believe Atlanta office for Form 4 and West Virginia office for From 1?)

NOTES/Questions:
*Sadly, it doesn't seem like one can get a "head start" on the paper-shuffling before acquiring the NFA firearm-to-be. But in this case, I guess it is nice that the FFX Co. Sherriff's office review all of the paperwork in tandem. *Sigh.

I figure I'll engrave the receiver of the firearm right AFTER I get the tax stamp back that way I can hold off if anything comes up. Good idea, bad idea?

For a Short Barreled Rifle, does anyone know of the legality of engraving the barrel (or any other part) of an HK type firearm to keep it kosher? I know of some other spots people have done it but I want to keep it least visible as possible.