Who's Online
10 registered (vafred, John92, Skywalking, MountainSmoke, unreel, kellog, LordHobo, kjack, 2 invisible), 9 Guests and 1 Spider online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Topic Options
#1596807 - 02/18/20 06:47 PM New flight student
jondeere Offline
Southern guy

Loc: Virginia
City or County: Mathews
Hey everyone, I'm new to aviation, recently started flight lessons, and interested in making connections and getting to know other pilots around here. Does anyone happen to have any advice or some extra flight gear?

Thanks,
-John

#1596813 - 02/18/20 07:02 PM Re: New flight student [Re: jondeere]
OXN Offline
Reagan Bush '84

City or County: Richmond
Where are you flying? It's a ton of fun, and the entire industry is experiencing a critical shortage of pilots at the moment. Scholarships are sometimes available if you know where to look. As you know already, getting started is certainly not for the faint of wallet.

#1596883 - 02/18/20 10:16 PM Re: New flight student [Re: jondeere]
jondeere Offline
Southern guy

I fly from Hummel Field in Middlesex right now. Where'd I look for scholarships?

I totally agree, It isn't cheap.

#1631813 - 05/04/20 03:19 PM Re: New flight student [Re: jondeere]
Dirtyboys Offline
12g

City or County: Ruther Glen
Hey, just found this thread. I am a new pilot and growing some hours, you will really enjoy this. Hummel is a small runway, you will love coming to a larger one. If your in Richmond look me up mcghee55@gmail.com we will share the cost and i fly at hanover.

#1632466 - 05/06/20 12:01 AM Re: New flight student [Re: jondeere]
panic788 Offline
Marksman

Loc: NOVA
City or County: Alexandria
Not a pilot myself, but saw this pop up the other day. With the lower amount of flight traffic in the air generally, some folks have had fun landing at dulles-iad and baltimore-bwi in their small prop. I guess it would normally be much harder to get into the pattern at non-covid times. Was a fun video to watch even if you don't fly.