Who's Online
0 registered (), 12 Guests and 8 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Topic Options
#2107993 - 03/23/24 08:48 AM No tool barrel swap for AR-15?
aspen1776 Offline
Pea shooter

Registered: 10/22/19
Posts: 11
Loc: VA
City or County: Chesapeake
Does anyone have any workaround for doing a barrel swap on an AR? I am wanting to pull a 224 Valkyrie barrel and put on a 400 legend barrel. Only issue is that I donít have a vice, AR vice block, or a barrel nut wrench. Iíd like to avoid spending a bunch of money to buy all that stuff and the wait time for the gunsmith to do it is insane and ntm expensive for something I could hopefully do in my own.

Top
#2108299 - 03/24/24 08:28 AM Re: No tool barrel swap for AR-15? [Re: aspen1776]
ruckersvillan Offline
Angry Southern Deplorable White Christian Male

Registered: 04/02/11
Posts: 181
Loc: Virginia
City or County: Ruckersville/Greene County
This isn't really the answer your looking for, but you need a armorer's
wrench, allen wrenches , and a torque wrench.
My wrench is set up for a 1/2 inch torque wrench. They are not very expensive like $25-$30 bucks. I got mine from midway I believe.
The barrel nut should be torqued 40-60 pounds.

You can make do with just a vice and some pieces of wood and rags to hold your upper.
Harbor freight would have a cheap vice and probably a cheap torque wrench.
I've bought several sets of allen wrenches there and they seem to last the same as my craftsman ones

You may need a small torch if red loctite was used on your set screws on the gas block. I've heard of people using heat guns also, but I don't have a heatgun lol

Good luck
_________________________
" Worst Governor In VA History " Northam and China Joe Biden can go to Hell

I'll cling to my guns and religion and you can take both from my cold dead hands

We Need To Play Cowboys And Liberals

Top
#2108959 - 03/25/24 10:28 PM Re: No tool barrel swap for AR-15? [Re: aspen1776]
htc0 Offline
Bolt action

Registered: 01/31/19
Posts: 184
Loc: Virginia
City or County: Mechanicsville
Easiest way I can think of would be to buy a Pantheon Arms takedown kit with a spare barrel connector for your extra barrel.

Top
#2109003 - 03/26/24 07:54 AM Re: No tool barrel swap for AR-15? [Re: aspen1776]
JustOneMore754 Offline
Marksman

Registered: 12/27/17
Posts: 213
Loc: Haymarket
City or County: Prince William
Assuming your upper was put together correctly, there isn't a way I know of to swap barrels without at least a barrel wrench and a vise. As Ruckers said you can get both those things for <$100 (less than your prospective 400 legend range trip) and if you're going to do stuff like put a niche caliber barrel on your AR you'll probably get your money's worth out of them.

Alternate thoughts:

1) Maybe you can find someone local to you on here with a bench & the tools necessary that would let you knock out the swap in an hour using their stuff.

2) If you're looking for a truly "tool-less" range experience that's honestly the kind of thing I'd just build a second upper for. It would probably run you about the same as buying the right tools for the job though, more if you want a nice hand guard.
_________________________
Prefer transactions to take place within an hours drive of Haymarket.

I can always be tempted by:
- SPAS-12 with a folding stock
- Shooter grade Luger
- Schofield reproduction
- S&W 586 with a 4Ē barrel

Top
#2109558 - 03/27/24 07:57 PM Re: No tool barrel swap for AR-15? [Re: aspen1776]
ruckersvillan Offline
Angry Southern Deplorable White Christian Male

Registered: 04/02/11
Posts: 181
Loc: Virginia
City or County: Ruckersville/Greene County
If you go to palmetto state armory they are having a Easter sale. I saw several armorer's wrenches for sale in the $25-$30 range.
_________________________
" Worst Governor In VA History " Northam and China Joe Biden can go to Hell

I'll cling to my guns and religion and you can take both from my cold dead hands

We Need To Play Cowboys And Liberals

Top
#2109708 - 03/28/24 09:23 AM Re: No tool barrel swap for AR-15? [Re: JustOneMore754]
aspen1776 Offline
Pea shooter

Registered: 10/22/19
Posts: 11
Loc: VA
City or County: Chesapeake
Good points all around. I dont really know anyone on here well enough to hit em up and ask to use their bench/tools.

Perhaps just building a new upper may be the way to go. Besides, I want a side charging handle on it. The real challenge lies in finding a side charging upper and BCG that is in 6.8 spc.

Top
#2109956 - 03/28/24 10:27 PM Re: No tool barrel swap for AR-15? [Re: aspen1776]
ruckersvillan Offline
Angry Southern Deplorable White Christian Male

Registered: 04/02/11
Posts: 181
Loc: Virginia
City or County: Ruckersville/Greene County
Pro2a tactical out of Georgia has side charging 6.8 spc.
They have pretty decent quality stuff and pretty good prices.
I'm gonna do a 6mm arc build soon and I'm considering them for my upper. I read a review somewhere on them and it was real good. I think it was on the high road or ar15.com.
Sometimes they have a heck of a sale on gunbroker from time to time
You should check them out


Edited by ruckersvillan (03/28/24 10:30 PM)
_________________________
" Worst Governor In VA History " Northam and China Joe Biden can go to Hell

I'll cling to my guns and religion and you can take both from my cold dead hands

We Need To Play Cowboys And Liberals

Top
#2110137 - 03/29/24 03:16 PM Re: No tool barrel swap for AR-15? [Re: aspen1776]
cheepshot Offline
Paddle mag release appreciator

Registered: 12/24/22
Posts: 10
Loc: Virginia
City or County: Fairfax, City of
I changed my barrel without a vice or armorer's wrench. I just sat on my rifle and used a wrench + pipe as a cheater bar. Depending on what barrel nut you have a specialized wrench may be necessary.

Followed https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g3028-STGvg

Top
#2111107 - 04/01/24 03:28 PM Re: No tool barrel swap for AR-15? [Re: aspen1776]
Va Hunter Offline
Gun fool

Registered: 12/11/08
Posts: 829
Loc: Drakes Branch
City or County: Charlotte
I have a wrench and vise block Iíll loan you, just pay the postage.

Top