Who's Online
9 registered (4Truck, srwshooter, akfreak, Safegun, Col. Mosby, wrickster, 3 invisible), 20 Guests and 5 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Page 3 of 4 < 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#54140 - 10/19/10 11:11 AM Re: Required ID for intrastate VA transactions [Re: 3gunShooter]
mascdm Offline
Pea shooter

Loc: Charlottesville, Albemarle Cou...
City or County: Charlottesville, Albemarle County
I know this thread is pretty old, but I'd like to offer some observations about FTF intrastate VA transfer ID requirements.

I'm noticing a lot of Sellers REQUIRING a VA Driver's License. While it's the Sellers option to require whatever he may want, my point is that 1), it's not necessary or a legal requirement; and 2) it limits the LEGAL market to the potential seller.

I am a resident of VA, but I'm also a resident of an other state (not at my choosing in fact). My Driver's License is NOT a VA DL for several reasons: one, I'd have to surrender my current license and two, my vehicle registrations are cheaper and currently registered in the other state.

I DO hold a VA CHP, which gets me to my point. If someone has a Resident VA CHP (as opposed to a non-resident CHP), this document - along with a government issued photo ID (such as a Passport or state Driver's License, etc.) should be all that is necessary to document that the Buyer is entitled to a FTF firearm transfer (other than Class III) with a VA resident Buyer. There is no legal reason why I should not be able to show up in an out of state registered vehicle, with out of state driver's license, and make a FTF firearm transaction with another resident of VA (though I might feel better by seeing his CHP).

BTW, I also continue to vote in the other state, so I don't hold a VA Voter Registration document currently either. Why? Because I still have friends in government in the other state and continue to support them (they have excellent 2A voting records at both state and federal officeholder levels).